You can mutate this card onto an undying creature, and then have the ability to sacrifice it, giving you a 5/5 reach and trample threat to go with your undying creature. The merged creature is the same creature it was before the merge, so any.
The distinctive aspect of Mutate is that the final creature can be the size of either the mutating creature or the creature it targets, which means the battlecruiser magic of multiple Auras is not present. However, unlike persist, a creature with undying returns to the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it (rather than a -1/-1 counter) unless it already had one or more of those counters on it when it died.
Not quite; the game looks for leaves-the-battlefield triggers (and more broadly, zone-change triggers) in the game state *before* the zone change. ", https://mtg.gamepedia.com/Mutate?oldid=377978, A spell cast with mutate becomes a mutating creature spell. As a mutating creature spell begins to resolve, check whether its target is still legal. It can't be put in the middle. If a mutating creature spell merges with a creature that's only temporarily a creature, it will remain a merged permanent when the effect making it a creature expires. They both return to the battlefield separately. A single trigger goes on the stack because a single permanent with undying died, and when it resolves, each creature card that was part of the merged creature returns to the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter. Undying's function is similar to persist, a keyword ability from the Shadowmoor block; if a permanent with undying is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, it returns to the battlefield under its owner's control. Whenever this creature mutates, other creatures you control get +X/+X until end of turn, where X is the number of times the creature has mutated. Undying's function is similar to persist, a keyword ability from the Shadowmoor block; if a permanent with undying is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, it returns to the battlefield under its owner's control. It requires a target. Hello everyone, so i was discussing with some friends about how this to key words work together. From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (September 25, 2020—Zendikar Rising), From the Comprehensive Rules (September 25, 2020—Zendikar Rising), Sightless Ghoul Creature — Zombie Soldier2/2Sightless Ghoul can't block.Undying (When this creature dies, if it had no +1/+1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under its owner's control with a +1/+1 counter on it. If its topmost object is a card, it's a non-token creature, even if it contains a token. If multiple replacement effects could be applied to the merged creature leaving the battlefield or being put into its new zone, applying one of those effects affects all of the moving objects. Cookies help us deliver our Services. An object returned to the battlefield with the undying ability is a new object with no memory of its previous existence. An ability that triggers "whenever this creature mutates" triggers whether the ability came from the mutating creature spell or from the creature that the mutating creature spell merged with. New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast, More posts from the ModernMagic community. If you cast a spell for its mutate cost, put it over or under target non-Human creature you own. I'm not a judge but my first thought is they are separate creatures in the graveyard (or any other zone they would go to) and since YW is the only one with undying it would return alone with the counter. Thanks everyone!!! Likewise, if a noncreature permanent becomes a creature, gains undying, and is put into a graveyard, the undying ability will still trigger even though that permanent won't be a creature when it returns to the battlefield. A subreddit dedicated to the discussion of the Magic: The Gathering's Modern format! They each come back with a +1/+1 counter.
If the target creature is already a merged creature, the mutating creature spell can be put only on top or bottom. Multiple instances of undying trigger separately, but are effectively redundant as only the first instance to resolve will have any effect. Press question mark to learn the rest of the keyboard shortcuts. This page was last edited on 6 September 2020, at 12:49.
A merged creature can't be split apart until it leaves the battlefield. ". To be clear my thought is they die as one but are separate when state based actions are checked for the undying trigger. If it's not, the spell ceases to be a mutating creature spell. Huntmaster Liger Creature — Cat3/4 Mutate (If you cast this spell for its mutate cost, put it over or under target non-Human creature you own. If a creature has multiple "whenever this creature mutates" abilities, its controller chooses the order for those abilities to resolve. A mutating creature spell is a creature spell, even if it won't enter the battlefield as a creature. Press J to jump to the feed. Undying, Persist – creatures with these keywords come back to the battlefield with a +1/+1 or -1/-1 counter respectively. This page was last edited on 5 June 2020, at 20:05. They mutate into the creature on top plus all abilities under it.). A three mana 5/5 that is also anti-graveyard hate is nothing to scoff at. Whereas Bestow is more expensive due to the creature that remains, Mutate has lower costs and tends to award compounding mutations. The fact that Young Wolf has undying in the graveyard is irrelevant; the mutated creature (as it existed before dying) had undying, and that's what matters. It shares Bestow's bonus of allowing a mutator to enter the battlefield in the case of invalid targets, but like Augmented creatures, the entire stack of mutates will change zones together. Check the AMA on the main Magictcg page for word straight from the rules manager. If a creature with one of these is part of a Mutant and dies, both components come back on the Battlefield with the respective counter. It has ", Undying relies on the last known information about the permanent just before it was put into a graveyard.