Ask yourself this: Can I cast [[Witness of the Ages]] as a morph, from the top of my deck with Mystic Forge? With the new M20 card, [[Mystic Forge]], am I able to cast cards with morph/megamorph abilities as a morph from the top of my library? which in turn would destroy the whole mechanic. Sylvan Library - Allows us to fix the top of our deck or straight up draw more cards. If I have to prove to you that it's colorless when I cast it, that kind of breaks the point of Morph. I think it's because Morph reads "you may cast this as a 2/2 for 3", rather than "you may cast this for 3, if you do, put it face down and it's a colorless 2/2". Press J to jump to the feed. That's my understanding too, but I really wonder if it'll change at some point. Once A Ranger The five Mystic Rangers would return years later with the other Legendary Rangers to help the Mega Rangers defeat the Armada once and for all. The actual morphing sequence starts with a logo with all five of their insignias on it. mystic forge - (G) (SF) (txt)[[cardname]] or [[cardname|SET]] to call. A diverse community of players devoted to Magic: the Gathering, a trading card game ("TCG") produced by Wizards of the Coast and originally designed by Richard Garfield. https://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/feature/core-set-2020-release-notes-2019-06-25, https://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=466987, New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast. You only cast a colorless card and that's what mystic forge cares about. Any effects or prohibitions that would apply to casting a card with these characteristics (and not the face-up card’s characteristics) are applied to casting this card. Iona, dragon's claw etc. Nova Morpher The Mystic Morphers were once the Rangers' magic wands. It ONLY is regarded as colorless as soon it lands on the stack as a Morph cast, or enters the battlefield as a 2/2 Morph. Is this another "casting squee from under an ixalan's binding" scenario? AFAIK no one ever does that sort of thing. 100% Upvoted. The Mystic Morphers were once the Rangers ' magic wands. IIRC this was changed when Bestow was introduced to account for things like different casting restrictions on creatures and enchantments. But if people started I think something would have to change. The "cast this as" implies the thing being cast is actually the facedown morph and not the card itself. Previous: (Edit: The hidden zone explanation sounds like a good one to me, despite it being a bit counterintuitive.). Although this suggested that their powers could never be completely taken away, the Mystic Force Rangers seemed to return to their civilian lives afterwards. New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast, Press J to jump to the feed. How and why does Mystic forge literally defy this? [Emphasis mine.]. Thus, you have to declare you are casting a morph first and this immediately makes the spell colorless before the game checks legality. Join us discussing news, tournaments, gameplay, deckbuilding, strategy, lore, fan art, cosplay, and more. u/Judge_Todd already Quoted the correct Ruling as to why u/Scrt2Evre1 is incorrect. Any effects or prohibitions that would apply to casting a card with these characteristics (and not the face-up card’s characteristics) are applied to casting this card. How is this in anyways confusing if morph's weren't colorless spells to begin with you had to reveal your morph everytime someone has something that cares about the color of the morph i.e. Huh, that's strange. This thread is archived. So once you go to cast a morph it becomes a colorless, nameless, typeless, vanilla 2/2 before you cast it. To use their Legend powers, the Rangers called out "Legendary Source, Mystic Force! Alternative to the Mystic Morphers, the Super Mega Rangers used Legendary Ranger Keys provided by Gosei to assume the corresponding Ranger forms as a Legendary Ranger Mode. Udonna Mystic Force Special System: I'm not an expert here, so correct me if I'm wrong, but I think it becomes colorless at the same time as you cast it, not before. Morphers Mystic Morpher Used by: Press question mark to learn the rest of the keyboard shortcuts. 6 comments. Mystic Rangers But this doesn't stop it if somehow starting to cast the card changes the game state in a way where you are now able to cast it. With the new M20 card, [[Mystic Forge]], am I able to cast cards with morph/megamorph abilities as a morph from the top of my library? save hide report. Ugin the Ineffable - (G) (SF) (txt)[[cardname]] or [[cardname|SET]] to call. u/Judge_Todd u/Scrt2Evre1 we have mismatching answers. Which lets you probe for people's reactions. Mystic Forge and Morph. u/Judge_Todd’s explanation How u/Judge_Todd explained is that when you go to cast your morph you flip it over before casting, making the spell colorless to Mystic Forge, the rules make why this is true no clearer but oh well. The easy solution is of course to just permit all morphs to be cast from Mystic Forge without problem. Witness of the Ages - (G) (SF) (txt)[[cardname]] or [[cardname|SET]] to call. If yes, if I ever cast a morph creature from the top of my deck, when would I have to prove that it is indeed colorless? Vizier of the Menagerie - Like Mystic Forge but … These morphed the Rangers with the call of "Magical Source, Mystic Force!" This is the biggest inconsistent ruling in Magic: When you announce that you are casting a card, the game allows you to "start" to cast the card, along with any effects that may apply. I wonder how common that is, I've never noticed it happening before. These values are the copiable values of that object’s characteristics. So [[Squee, the Immortal]] can be cast from under [[Ixalan's Binding]] in this way. Similarly [[Ugin the Ineffable]] gives you a discount on casting it, because it becomes colorless before you pay any costs to cast it. When morphing into the Legend Warriors, they press 123 instead of 120. Produced by: However, in order to keep the Rangers' identities a secret as well as fashion them to the Rangers' liking, Udonna turned them into these Mystic Morpher Cell Phones, similar to the Growl Phones and Lunar Caller. Mystic Forge - Lets us look at the top of our deck and play it if it's an artifact or morph creature. "Magical Source, Mystic Force!" Legendary Battle. However, in order to keep the Rangers' identities a secret as well as fashion them to the Rangers' liking, Udonna turned them into these Mystic Morpher Cell … Then it finds that you can't cast it and stops you. Then their respective titan (in ancient Mystic Mode) descends from the symbol and then the Ranger jumps up through it. Sensei's Divining Top - The ultimate top decking tool. When a card with morph is either in your hand, library, graveyard or exile, is has its original properties; mana cost, color, base power/toughness, yada yada. Please come back. Recently we had a small discussion and research on what the rulings were on Mystic Forge and how it works with morph, and we have come to a very weird discovery on the MTG Gatherer page; "12-7-2019 If the top card of your library has a morph ability, you can cast it face down from the top of your library, even if it’s normally not a colorless card. The Morphers are the Rangers' key weapon for morphing into Rangers, as well as morphing into their Zord forms. and were used to perform spells via various digit-based codes that were entered into the keypad. First when you propose the spell, and then later after you've decided on modes, targets, values for X, etc. Mystic Fate Xander used his Mystic Morpher again, in assisting the temporarily depowered Overdrive Rangers, but his powers might have been among those restored by the Sentinel Knight. The card checks for 'card', and cards with morph aren't colorless so long they aren't on the stack or on the field. Right now I'm pretty sure there's no actual penalty for doing something like "I will cast this spell pierce by tapping this mountain oh wait that's illegal so I won't". It is weird though since there are situations where you can start the casting process without having any way to know whether or not you'll successfully cast the spell. Yes.You turn a morph card facedown before you check legality of casting. New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast. [..], Sorry about that, honestly didn't realize that, Mystic Forge - (G) (SF) (txt)[[cardname]] or [[cardname|SET]] to call. Next: The alternative is that you check when the creature leaves play or the game is over, but then you would have to keep track of which of my morphs I played from the top of my deck and which ones I didn't. Each number corresponded to a magic word, with the morphing spell being ‘1-2-3’ (“Galwit-Mysto-Ranger"). i agree with korg, morph is anoying, where raven, she can kick ass, hack computers, clean, load, take apart and put back any gun known to man, She can hot wire any thing from a car to a heliocoper. They can also be used to cast spells, via spell codes. Press question mark to learn the rest of the keyboard shortcuts. am I able to cast cards with morph/megamorph abilities as a morph from the top of my library? It becomes a 2/2 face-down creature card with no text, no name, no subtypes, and no mana cost. Doesn't sound right to me, either. But the point stands, you never cast a colored card. and were used to perform spells via various digit-based codes that were entered into the keypad. The rules otherwise would not work, because if legality was checked before the spell is declared, you would not be able to cast any spell under any restriction at all. That's a little weird and illogical, but as long as it's consistent... sure, whatever, right? These morphed the Rangers with the call of "Magical Source, Mystic Force!" Interestingly, that's one of two rulings for it that show up on Gatherer but not in the original release notes, despite having the same date stamp as the other four. The part that confuses everyone of us; Mystic forge specifies the properties of a card to be colorless in order for it to be eligible to be cast. By using our Services or clicking I agree, you agree to our use of cookies. 7/12/2019: If the top card of your library has a morph ability, you can cast it face down from the top of your library, even if it’s normally not a colorless card. Mystic Forge provides the ability to cast this from the top of your library even though it (probably) couldn't cast the face-up version. 702.36c To cast a card using its morph ability, turn it face down. 702.36c To cast a card using its morph ability, turn it face down. To be slightly more specific (but not much because I don't know where it is in the rules), but someone explained to me that the steps to casting a spell is that you have to declare the spell being cast before anything else, including legality checks by the game. Why does this ruling contradict how the game reads a card's properties? Snow Staff, Power Rangers Mystic Force - First Mission and Morph - Episode 2 "Broken Spell". ", code '1-2-0' ("Galwit-Mysto-Neramax"), The Mystic Rangers’ good magic was finally depleted by the Master, only to be recharged by the collective goodwill of the people of Briarwood and the magical beings of the forest. Production Order But then WOTC specifically made a ruling that said you couldn't. Cookies help us deliver our Services. It becomes a 2/2 face-down creature card with no text, no name, no subtypes, and no mana cost. share. Season: Because the card doesn't check for spells or permanents. Legality is checked twice, actually. Because you never “cast” a land card, Mystic Forge doesn’t allow you to play an artifact land from the top of your library.